5 Things

Fun Facts About All Kinds of Stuff!

5 Cool Things About Stilettos

photo courtesy of Kashif Haque @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/_kashif/

photo courtesy of Kashif Haque @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/_kashif/

I admit it. I am jealous, no SUPER jealous, of women who can wear high heels. Every now and again, I stumble upon a pair that I can bear to wear for more than a few hours. Most times, though, I am forced to wear my flip flops into the office and change into my heels at the elevator or even at my desk. And even then, my faves are my 2 inch peep toes. Yep. My work bestie, though, has me green with envy. She owns like 3000 pairs of shoes and 2999 of them are heels of the stiletto variety. Her and every other chick at the office it seems. Yes, I feel alone and abandoned. (weeping).

So, where the heck did they come from, this frightening wardrobe must have? Today’s internet meandering told me the following facts:

  • A few fashion historians believe that high-heeled shoes appeared more than 6000 years ago because archaeologists discovered illustrations of spiky heels in Egyptian tombs dating back to 4000 BC.
  • In the 1970s stilettos were mostly associated with explicit behavior and mosty worn by frivolous women and punk rockers.They saw a resurgence in the late 1990’s with the help of the ladies from Sex and The City.
  • Heights of the stiletto range from a moderate 2.54 cm to a scary 20.32 cm, depending on whether the shoes have a platform in the front.
  • The Guiness World Record for most people running in high heeled shoes is 155.
  • Stiletto heels are a common fetish item.

Hope you have enjoyed today’s post!

Source 1

Source 2

2 comments on “5 Cool Things About Stilettos

  1. H. E. Lexus
    September 21, 2014

    I do not think five is the limit. Keep practicing in your heels. The thing I express being the most important is the fit. They must fit your foot well or they are not going to ever be comfortable. The heel height will only be a small factor beyond that. 😉

    Like

    • onecoolchica
      September 21, 2014

      Hi! Thanks for your comment. I will definitely keep trying to walk in stilettos. I think they are quite sexy and they do wonders for a chick’s bottom line! Take care!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 19, 2014 by in Fashion and tagged , , , .
Follow 5 Things on WordPress.com

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

According to Jewels

Living a life worth writing about.

Passing The Comic

When race is more than just black or white.

Dixi

Alis volat propriis

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

livewanderlove

Go out and see the world

The Big Girl's Guide

To Love, Sex and Self Confidence

Stephanie Bernaba

Writer | Photographer

