5 Things

Fun Facts About All Kinds of Stuff!

5 Cool Things About the Piano

September is National Piano Month

September is National Piano Month

 

I started taking piano lessons in 3rd grade. Mrs. Judy Sanders would come by my 3rd grade class on Thursdays and collect a few of us and whisk us off to the music room for 30 minutes of piano instructions. I hated it. Now I hate that I hated it. I took piano on and off for about 3 years. I tell people this and then they are shocked when I tell them I cannot read music. Actually, I am ashamed now as I think about the opportunity I threw away. My parents finally got tired of my whining and complaining and discontinued my lessons for good. My sister, on the other hand, followed through with her piano education and is now the “official” family pianist.

Oh and did I mention that September is National Piano Month? Anyway, all this piano talk prompted me to look for some cool facts about this beautiful instrument. Here are some of the things I learned.

  • Aside from the pipe organ, the piano is the largest musical instrument.
  • Piano lessons make you smart! True story–studies indicate that children who learn piano tend to do better in school. This is likely due to the discipline, eye-hand coordination and social skills building that comes along with learning to play this instrument.
  • The name “piano” is actually a shortened nickname from the Italian “pianoforte”. Eventually this was shortened to what we use today.
  • Despite the strings, pianos are actually considered as percussion and are placed in that section of a symphony orchestra.
  • Yamaha was the first Japanese piano manufacturer  with their first production starting in 1887.

 

I hope you have enjoyed today’s post. If so, please like my facebook page, share and subscribe!

P.S. One of my favorite jazz pianists is Bob James. His best song, in my opinion, is entitled Far From Turtle from the album Grand Piano Canyon. Click to listen and treat your ears to something special. Brian Culbertson comes in a close second with his song entitled Dreams from the album with the same name. Read more about this awesome jazz piano creation!

Read more cool things about the piano here, and here.

 

Photo is courtesy of Raymond.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 23, 2014 by in Entertainment, Holidays, Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
Follow 5 Things on WordPress.com

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Site Title

Welcome to your new home on WordPress.com

According to Jewels

Living a life worth writing about.

Passing The Comic

When race is more than just black or white.

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

livewanderlove

Go out and see the world

The Big Girl's Guide

To Love, Sex and Self Confidence

Stephanie Bernaba

Writer | Photographer

